10 of my Favorite Things about Korea

I’ve been living in Korea for about a month and a half now. So much time has already flown by! So I wanted to share a couple things I really love about Korea and living on my island of Geoje-do. Not the big general things like the culture and the language (which are totally awesome!), but the really personal details that I love so much about my life here.

  1. I love the little filled fishes that ajuma’s make here on the street corners. These mini deserts seem to be the cross between a donut and a waffle. I really like the red bean paste and you can get them filled with that or filled with a lemon cream-delicious! img_5468
  2. I really like my Etude House tea drop eye highlighters. I got two because they were so cheap and I had been wanting to get these for so long. I absolutely the sparkly big eye asian look. As much as I liked my usual dark slightly smokey eyed look before I came here, wearing something sparkly and bright is so me that it makes me happy every time I put it on!

    IMG_5605.JPG

    I’m also pretty excited in this picture because of the sangria I found!

  3. I love the little bread shop on the corner by the department store in my neighborhood. It is filled with breads that are filled with creams and pastes and I enjoy them all (I know because I’ve tried them all). There is a strawberry cream filled one and a red bean paste filled burnt rice bread which are so weird and delicious. And honestly, my favorite thing about this store is the lady who works there. She is always so kind and so even when I am not getting bread I’ll be sure to wave at her through the large glass windows.

    IMG_5682.jpg

    These is a burnt rice bun with red bean filling-perfect breakfast!

  4. I love the statue of Mary outside the little Catholic Church that I found. I think it’s cool that no matter how tiny and squished in the churches are in Korea, every one I have seen have a lovely Marian Grotto.
  5. I love leaving my toothbrush at school. Koreans are super big into toothbrushing which I think is great! That way you don’t have to stress about eating a really spicy flavorful meal because you know every teacher and student is going to rush to the sink right after and take their toothbrush from its spot on their shelf and brush their teeth. And it makes the school feel way more like home to me.
  6. I love the bus stop by my main school. It’s right on the edge of the sea and the horizon is filled with purpleish blue islands fading away into the distance. Sunny or gray, it is absolutely amazing and I feel so blessed every time I walk to the bus from school. There is a long dock from the school to the bus stop so I get to walk over the sea every time I work at the main school and I always have to take a moment to just drink it in. So beautiful. IMG_5695.JPG
  7. I really like the KakaoTalk friend Muzi. So KakaoTalk (Korea’s talk app) has all these little characters that apparently have different and personalities, way more options that the generic smiley faces I’m used to adding to texts! So Muzi is my favorite little guy. He is technically an emoticon of an adventurous, fun-loving radish wearing a bunny suit but he looks like a cute little bunny to me and I like the little guy! I definitely use that emoji most when texting and I actually just got a Muzi toothbrush and notebook. Just too cute! mujiLike look at that adventurous little radish!
  8. I love eating super hot and spicy Ddokbboki while standing at the street food counter. I have always been ravenously hungry when I get it but it’s so amazing every time! It’s sweet and spicy (like most things here) and I love the chewy texture of the noodle things in the sauce. Eventually I’ll learn to make it myself but its always cheap to just buy on the way home, and I like the experience of standing on a street corner and eating it too!

    IMG_5445.JPG

    That’s a whole lot of delicious you are looking at!

  9. I love being called “Teacher” in tiny Korean accented voices! My students are all adorable and I am so grateful to be at the schools that I am at.
  10. And I love white Konglish Sweaters! Why white? It’s just a personal preference of mine at the moment, but what I really love is when they have large English words on them that sometimes make sense and sometimes make no sense at all. Its just so refreshing coming from an English speaking country where we have asian characters printed on stuff to see people who can’t speak the language sporting big roman letters on their clothes. I don’t know why I love wearing them so much but they make me so happy. I just bought a sweater that says “Whatever you do” scrawled across the front which is fine but on the sleeve it also says “The city of Uk Popular” which makes me laugh every time!

    IMG_5557.JPG

    This one even came with the little black skirt!

There you have it: a glimpse into some of the little things I love so much! Words cannot fully express how happy I am to be here! To all my friends and family back home, thank you so much for all the support and helping make this dream a reality. I love you all so very very much!

Leave a Reply

