An Unexpected Destination

“Under the sea,” he sang, “under the sea!” And I joined in. We hummed the “Little Mermaid” song as he drove down into the dark cement tunnel that ran from Busan to Geoje Island deep under the sea.

“When I was younger, I always thought that the tunnel under the sea would be glass. A child’s imagination….”  said the teacher who was driving me to my new home.

Well, I would love if it the tunnel was glass! This country is pretty magical, I wouldn’t be surprise if there was a glass tunnel cars could drive through. I was practically overwhelmed by excitement at this point as we drove under the ocean and I strove to read and get a translation for every road sign I could find.

IMG_4603.JPG

A teacher from my school was driving me from Busan to the island of Go-Jay which is going to be my new home for the year. I landed in Korea only a little over a week ago. It feels way longer than that. I’ve already been around Busan, have visited Spa Land with a great group of friends (Korean spas, I’ll have to talk more about those later…), attended the EPIK orientation which was filled with days of high quality lectures (like lectures from morning till night!) and hot Korean meals all at a a gorgeous mountainous campus (I’ve been told its definetely not the best Korean food… What? It was delicious! What’s the rest of the country like??). I’ve watched a stunning traditional Korean music and dance performance which left me speechless (there was break dancing like I have never seen and that is really saying something) and visited the UN Memorial Cemetery (which was powerful). I’ve added quite a bit to my severely limited Korean vocabulary . I’ve hiked to ornate temples in the sacred quiet of morning (and let’s not forget the first morning when I watched the sun rise all gold and pink above the gray green mountains that spread in every direction) and sang and danced my heart out at Norebang (Karaoke rooms). I’m not sure if there was every a week I’ve had with more emotions all at the same time.

IMG_4569.JPG

My view as I walked from classes to lunch.

IMG_4399.jpg

My food of choice while lesson planning!

IMG_4468.JPG

Where I go after classes for my fill of singing, dancing, and yogurt soju.

IMG_4566.jpg

The sun rising as we begin our morning hike…

IMG_4555.jpg

And about 20 minutes into that same hike we find this gem of temple as the sun strikes the wall behind it.

So much and I haven’t even been here two weeks! Whew!

So this is how it feels to leave everything you know. This is how it feels to make a bunch of instant amazing friends who are on the same crazy adventure and have that same excited energy. So this is how it feels to be utterly overwhelmed by how beautiful everything is around and how differently they do things. So this is what its like to be sandwiched between the mountains and the sea.

Seriously, is this real life? How is it so beautiful!

IMG_4411.jpg

Not saying it’s always easy.

But life isn’t supposed to be comfortable, right? Its supposed to be great!

So that’s how I ended up in the car with a fantastic Korean teacher who was giving me a Korean lesson and explaining the names of my future co-workers, speeding away into the gray stormy day. I haven’t felt this brain-sore since that time I entered the depths of collage.

And then there it was, my apartment! If you read blogs about it you will hear no end to the horror stories about what kind of apartment you might get through EPIK so I was waiting for the flickering lights in the hallway and the moldy bare room. Instead we stopped in the center of town in from of a row of stone buildings. The teacher with me insisted on helping me with my outrageously heavy and large bags (thank you!!!) and asked me if everything was satisfactory once I reached the room.

Satisfactory? The one room had a clean spacious wooden floor, an adorable little kitchen area, a bed with bedding and a massive desk with both a TV and a computer. Already much more than expected. The bathroom was clean and larger than I expected with nice shampoos and soaps provided by the last girl there, and also cleaning supplies! Its funny how excited that was! No shopping necessary for the next couple of days. It was a rushed look because I was off to see meet all the big shots at the school including the principle and my co-teacher. I was terrified that I would do something offensive or forget a word in Korean.

One word I walked away with after meeting all the people at my school: KIND. I walked in with a whole garden of butterflies in my stomach but Mr. Kim introduced my first to my wonderful co-teacher. And then to the principle and vice prinicple. They all made me feel very welcome with their large smiles and kind words. There was flurry of Korean as they sorted things out and then my co-teacher drove me back to my home to show me around the town.

Korea is awesome guys. Its so chaotic and squished in some ways, but gently beautiful and wild in other ways. Its so unexpected and new that I’m exhausted and overjoyed at the same time.

IMG_4458.jpg

It’s time for bed but I’ll be sure to let you in on the adventures of the future 🙂

One thought on “An Unexpected Destination

  1. Pingback: 5 Ways I Have Met Some Amazing Friends in Korea | jacquelinelucca

Leave a Reply

