To Add to the Valentine’s Day Conversation

Everyone has something to say about Valentine’s Day and usually it’s a rather strong opinion. Pictures of flowers and chocolate that have been received suddenly fill Facebook. People gush about their loved ones. Other people think its simply an obligation and that no one really likes it. Who could really like a holiday that is all about the color pink and artificial love? Other call it Single’s Awareness Day. Where do you stand on the hate it or love it scale? I feel pretty strongly about this day so I thought I should say a little something on the matter.

First of all, how did it start? Here is a summary. It’s like your typical holiday–something that has roots in a tradition which first began to develop around the time of the Ancient Romans and has strong Christian connections. It’s actually pretty cool just as holidays go in my opinion.

But what about now? It’s pretty commercialized and that’s kind of depressing. But let’s be honest: everything is commercialized including love at this point. You can hate the commercialization of something but don’t hate the thing itself. In my opinion… its a time to remember love.

Cheesy. Yup.

But here’s my point: People have gotten in the habit of rolling their eyes at traditions because they have begun to call them obligations. People do the same thing with Christmas but I feel like Valentine’s Day gets a particular amount of hate. (Ironic for a day which is all about a celebration of love…). Holidays aren’t supposed to just be obligations. They can be stressful and they can be used shamelessly to make money. But there is a reason that they are there. There are specific days each year that are set aside to celebrate certain aspects of life.

Valentines day is the day to take time to appreciate who we love.

For those dating or married, what a perfect excuse to remember all the beautiful things about the person you love and show them. I am personally a huge fan of the traditional ways to show someone you care–if anyone get’s me chocolate and flowers I will love them (the chocolate and flowers, I mean;)! I think its cute!

If you are single, things can be a little trickier. I’m single and I have seen a lot of the people in the same boat as I am, be the particular haters of this day. So here are some reasons to celebrate:

  • Because even if you aren’t involved with a romantic interest, I am sure that there is some other form of love in your life whether that be friends, parents, or pets. Those loves are worth celebrating and should be remembered. Why not do it on a day specifically to celebrate love?
  • Cuz Chocolate. A lot of people make fun of February 15th as national chocolate on sale day which is kind of funny but honestly, mid-Feb is the time for sweets. Why not take advantage of all the yummy extra things that are around you and celebrate the day with a little sugar… or alcohol… or all of the above! 🙂
  • If love and chocolate aren’t really convincing enough, then just think about how much you can brighten someone’s day. I like to give my friends little Valentines. I bought my little sisters tiny strawberry plants this year and I am really excited to watch them grow their little beginnings of a garden.

However you want…. for whatever love you have… surely there is some reason for you to celebrate Valentine’s Day. Haters should think a little before they go on hating and those who love… Keep loving and remember to cherish days that are set aside to cherish those you love.

 

Leave a Reply

