Wooden Water

“Is it nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune? Or to take arms against a sea of troubles, And, by opposing, end them?”

Poor Hamlet! I’m totally asking the same question right now. I’m a senior; it’s ok if I have the tendency to question whether I should do homework. It’s called procrastination. I do it well. But I’m a writer so I am going to let you know how I feel. Hopefully, it won’t be an obnoxious rant. (Or a slightly more educated rant like this.) I’m going more for melodramatic prose which borders on poetry (which can also be obnoxious. I thought I should give you fair warning!). Just think of me as an up and coming (and hopefully surpassing) Sandra Cisneros;)

Wooden Water: paper sheaves  which drown me underneath their weighty impact on my life. What is an A or B stamped across the crafted page? It’s a label which stains my work and perhaps my future for better or worse. A stain which may color the fabric of a transcript and color me into a category: failure or nerd. Magna, summa, or no honors at all. 

What does it matter? But how can it not? Never study so hard that you forget to live life. A grade is a color but only one in a grand scheme. Ask deeper questions like what does it mean? 

Ok, I’ll be honest, I scratched this down while in class and just thought I’d share it. My life stance seems to take a exponentially more pessimistic view when I am in certain classes and an overly optimistic view when I’m in others. Who knows, maybe the two extremes will leave me a very balanced individual 🙂

Leave a Reply

