The Hobbit

IMG_4788

I’m sorry, he’s cute but I can’t picture him as an elf yet!

Have you seen it yet???

This is one epic movie that I have been waiting to see for a while! If you haven’t seen it yet, don’t read this! It will contain some spoilers.

Acting: I thought the acting was great! I’m slightly biased because I’m slightly in-love with Lee Pace (whom I sorry but I could not take him seriously as an elf!) and with Richard Armitage who plays the most epic Thorin EVER! And of course, Ian McKellen was brilliant as always! Mr. Bilbo did a fantastic job at being cute and hobbity but also likeably brave.

English: Richard Armitage at the 2010 Televisi...

Yup, he can handle playing the King of Dwarves and looking super BA while fighting. 

Cinematography: Ever since my siblings and I have made our little Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe  I feel like I have noticed the style of the cinematography of movies more. This move had wonderful camera shots which made me feel like I was on a ride the entire time (although it got a little unfocused…not sure that it was because of the theater that we were at or because of the movie itself…). The lighting was lovely!! Wonderful use of every sunrise, sunset, and moon lit night! Not to mention the fire underground! Those things combined made it a very pretty movie.

Plot: I think they ended at a good part (right after they get out of the misty mountains and escape the goblins in the trees). They certainly did change somethings which I sorta wish they wouldn’t have but didn’t mind too much. (I mean was Thorin almost dying really necessary? We all know he’s not going to!) And I did appreciate the amount of details they were able to pull in from other books such as the unfinished tales and LOTR and the simirillian. (It made me super pumped for my upcoming Tolkien class!!!!). Over all, I liked how they adhered to the books. It wasn’t quite as good as it could have been and there were a couple slow parts in the movie but they did pretty well at adapting it.

Other notes: the fighting was a little unrealistic. There were some added falls and such which should have ended in death but didn’t. That’s ok though, I’m glad they all lived.

Other other notes: I want to be assigned to an adventure. Anybody know of any dwarves in need of a 14th person for a quest?  I get faint at the sight of blood, hate the cold, and like my warm house but so did Bilbo, and I feel like there is a certain Took side of me that really enjoyed the movie and wanted to go live it!!

What did you think of the Hobbit??:)

 

Leave a Reply

