Summer Goals

What do you do when you have strep throat?

Please don’t say you take a 20 mile bike ride in the rain or I won’t feel original:) That’s what I did yesterday. For someone who is not in shape, training for a 250mile bike ride is quite the ordeal. I’m learning a lot about all kind of new equipment and cross training exercises and awesome bikers clothing.

I have also managed to get a lot done on my story:) I have decided to just start retyping the whole thing while revising it. So far, I have about 15,000 words and I’m hoping to have a complete new revised draft by June 8th:) After that, I’ll start going to start asking people to revise it and start looking for an editor.

So, summer has been off to a good start. I’m moving toward all my official summer goals:

1. Be able to have a conversation in Spanish

2. Bike 250 miles

3. Get rid of freshmen 15

4. Publish my story

5. Read five big books

((I have been studying a little Spanish. By “studying” I mean that I read through The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe in Spanish. I can understand it but I’m not sure if that’s because I actually understand Spanish or because I have the book partially memorized;) I’ll talk more about the rest of my summer goals later. I’m off to go type more of my story:))

What are some of your summer goals? Anything similar to mine? Good luck on all summer goals that you have!! And Happy Memorial Day weekend!!:)

3 thoughts on “Summer Goals

  1. My summer goals are slightly less ambitious than yours- to not spend the whole summer working and get to the seaside! I did a 30 mile walk last month, but 250 even in a car seems a hell of a long way. You’re going to have legs of steel by the end of that!

  2. Wow, those are some ambitious summer goals. Best of luck!

    My only goals are to enjoy my time and make a lot of good memories. I’d also like to catch up on my reading, but I don’t want to make that set so it doesn’t become a chore.

  3. My summer goals are similar: I’m working with Russian and German, trying to get two short stories ready for publication, read around 7 books, and I want to lose my freshman 15. 🙂 And I want to try to keep my blog going – I have ideas for articles, but I’ll be going out of town so much, it will be pretty crazy.

    Good luck with your story. 🙂 Where do you plan to submit it?

Leave a Reply

